Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: R. T. Bowyer, J. K. Braun, H. H. Genoways, K. M. Helgen, M. C. Kalcounis-Rueppell, T. E. Lacher, P. D. Moehlman, T.J. O'Shea, B. J. Sewall, W. P. Smith, R. W. Thorington (Chair).

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

Information Items:

(1) The Conservation Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Leopold Conservation Award and the Hornaday Student Conservation Award. Nominations for these awards were received and evaluated by the committee, and the recommendations of the committee were reviewed and approved by the Board of Directors. The awardees will be announced at the Annual Banquet in Fairbanks.

Action Items:

(1) Budget Items: \$1200 (\$200 for the Leopold Award plaque and \$1000 to bring the Hornaday Awardee to the Annual Meeting in Wyoming next year).

Respectfully submitted, R. W. Thorington, Chair

(ThoringtonR@SI.EDU)